Colorful Enough?

Standard

My intent was to use my new, Big Box of 64 Gelly Rolls to color this in.  But while I was sorting the new, Big Box of 64 Gelly Rolls and making the color chart they conveniently give you……I saw how maybe I wouldn’t be able to control the amount of color I was putting down.

So I chickened out.

I decided to still use color, but dug into my Irotijen colored pencils and my little jar of mineral spirits instead.

Flowing Flowers in Color

When I tell you the colors are “off” believe me.  There is more coral in that then is showing and for the life of me I cannot edit it to have it show.  Sigh.  The original is so much richer and not as neony.  I’m not sure if I will regularly be adding color to my work, but this was a nice change.  And it really is more time consuming….before I knew it, 4 o’clock had rolled around.

So I have a few editing programs – inkscape, gimp, paintshop pro…….any recommendation, tips, techniques, out and out yelling at me to do this or do that??? I’ll take it.  This was so frustrating to try to get an accurate representation of, I gave up.  pfffft!  Obviously I don’t know how to use any of the programs I have to do what I want.  Very different for me from editing photos.

Have a Wonderful Weekend and Happy Doodling!

6 responses »

  1. I have the same problem scanning or getting photos of color pencil work (and, unfortunately, the Gellyrolls Moonlight can be the same way). I’ve that sometimes if I adjust the fill light and/or shadows I can get closer to true color. Sometimes, I play with the color temperature, but not as often. If you don’t have a program that lets you do that, Picasa is free,and while it won’t do anything fancy, it does most of the basics editing you might need.

    Sometimes, though,you just can’t get the right colors.

    This came out beautifully! You got that values right and that can be more important than the actual color.

    For your first outing with the Gellyrolls, I’d recommend staying fairly simple. With the Moonlights, you might try working on dark paper–they’re really dramatic for that. Since most of the Gellyrolls have the same value, contrast can be an issue. It’s easy to see value with black and white–one is dark and the other isn’t. Even grays can be easy to see. It’s harder with color, so I’d aim to put lots of yellows, pinks and light greens next to dark blues, burgundy, and dark green.

    The Shadow Gellyrolls are tricky. They go down looking red or green or whatever, but they all dry as a gold. The differences in their final color are subtle, so pick one for a picture and stay with it for that picture. I put tape on mine, so I wouldn’t accidentally pick one up thinking it was the cap color.

    • Thank you so much for the information. I’m playng around with some of the Gelly Rolls on some black paper right now. I did notice the gold/silver – how interesting. Keep it simple is a good thing!

  2. Also, going back to value, even the light Gellyrolls have a darker value because the color is so saturated. I usually choose no more than two or three colors, two light and one dark, per picture. I’ll use more if I’m mixing media and using paint or have lots of dark paper behind because the other media has a different level of values and offers more contrast.

    It sounds difficult, but isn’t really. It’s easier to see than it is to explain. The main thing to remember is Keep It Simple.

Leave a Reply

