They Say Third Time’s a Charm

Standard

The baby blanket yarn from hell.  I give you Tiramisu…..the 2nd.  The 1st was ripped after 17 inches and less than 22 inches wide….

That’s Tahki Cotton Classic.  Classic PITA.  You see all that edgy wonky-ness?  You see all that rippling?  Yeah.  Me too.  F’er. This one as not ripped.  In a fit of dispair (sorta like the PIT of dispair without the pit part) I ran into my stash yesterday and came up with six skeins of Cotton Ease.

Look at that.  All even and stuff.

But wait….there’s more…..

What a difference a yarn makes.

I could have crocheted THREE of these in the time it’s taking me to do ONE.  Not the fault of anyone but myself for thinking I could eek out a decent size the first time I started.  Then for thinking if I just go up a hook size on the second blanket attempt…..and then, what the heck was I thinking?  I hated that yarn when I as making a Ribby Shell out of it, and I don’t know what made me think it would be better for a baby blanket.  It sucks.  Suckity, Suck, Suck, Suck.  I need to finish the blanket this week – which is do-able, now.  I’m into the second skein and have over 16 inches done since yesterday.  It took me all week to get 17 inches on the other one. I’m starting to hate crochet.

In case you’re wondering – no, I’m not new to crochet.   I learned to crochet when I was 4.  I’m 48 now.  I won’t call myself an expert but I will tell you – I should definitely know better.  I used to sell my blankets.  If I sell them, I’m pretty proud of them.  I know what gauge is.  I know how to create straight edges.  Apparently, I just don’t know when to put the wrong yarn down.   This is what happens when you’re looking for love in all the wrong yarn.

FMC.

On a less complainy note….we have a new resident here….

Meet Friday.  Friday just showed up at our front door a few weeks ago.  As a matter of fact….Friday showed up during that “week” of thingsIdonotwishtodiscuss, and my husband, who is a confirmed non-cat person, picked him up and declared it was a sign and we needed to take care of him.  (note:  the kitten didn’t show up with the collar – we bought that – we wouldn’t keep a kitten that was obviously someone else’s – we called around and now one wanted to “claim” him)  So after figuring out that It was a HE (had no idea that cats had their junk so well hidden) and since we had thought HE was a SHE and the girls name we settled on just didn’t fit, on someone’s suggestion HE is now  Friday.  Friday is going to be mostly an outside cat/garage cat as I am mostly allergic to cats.  But he’ll be well cared for and warm and toasty and he’s stuck like glue on Bob.  Who knows – if I can find a decent de-allergizing shampoo, he may just be ok in the house.  But I do have the allergy to the dander pretty bad. Here’s the part where you send me any advice on such shampoos, thankyouverymuch.

And some shop information.  We now have a FB page where you can go and “LIKE” us.  So if you’re on Facebook and feel so inclined, we’d appreciate the like-ing.  And I’ve finally gotten my Fiber together and listed some of this wonder-fluff in our etsy shop

English Angora Fiber, 2 oz from our very own fluffinator, Max.   Since I’ve never sold angora before, I’m anxious for my first sale – I have lots of experience spinning fiber, and know what I like, but it would be wonderful to get some feedback from someone else.

Well…..that baby blanket isn’t going to finish itself so I better get back to it!  Have a great week!

8 responses »

  1. What a cute kitten! Glad you finally put the “bad” yarn down. Sometimes we just can’t be convinced the yarn won’t work out until it finally just clicks and we put it down and don’t look back.

  2. I love Tahki Cotton Classic! and other mercerized cottons like it; I really miss Dale of Norway’s Kolibri. I don’t like knitting with the non-mercerized cottons as much. Maybe it just depends on what you’re making with it.

    Friday is very cute.

  3. Yay for Friday! And isn’t it amazing how, after knitting for years, you can still be shocked by the difference the “right” yarn makes.

  4. Lord, you got me tickled with the part about cats hiding their junk. /snicker/ It’s late and I’m tired and you just knocked my giggle box over. heee

    Ahem…getting control of myself….the dander issue: I’m very allergic to dog dander. One thing that has worked for me is Oatmeal based shampoo. Don’t know if it will help, but it’s worth a shot. 🙂

Leave a Reply

