Milestones and Obsessions

Standard

Our Dan has Graduated from High School!  We’re very proud of him and he’s really had a lot going on the past few weeks – Graduation from Fire AcademyAND High School Graduation.  Congratulations, Dan!!!

Since Dan joined the Fire Dept, I find myself once again part of the social scene of it.  Last week was their Fire Dept Picnic and the three of us attended.  It was a really hot day and the Fire Fighters did have water at their disposal, but I didn’t take advantage all the water available. Instead, I sat in the shade and talked with a few ladies about this and that and scrapbooking and card making.  I’ve dabbled in both before, had some supplies, but they’ve gotten so much better.  In fact……after talking to the ladies and hearing the high praise of this machine……and hearing all the things it can do, I proceeded to win one on Ebay (refusing to pay full price for it, of course)  and I’m unpatiently awaiting it’s delivery(should be friday).  In the meantime, since I’ve all these friends looking out for me, calling me when someone is having a sale, letting me know when coupons are out…..I’m probably very prepared to just get to work with that machine once it gets here.

You can still make some nice designs without any machines, of course.  I had a lot of fun putting this card together for the teacher I work with – she’s a Beach enthusiast and I thought this came out ok.  (crappy iphone photo, rainy and not a good day to get nice pics otherwise)

Don’t worry – I’m still knitting.  Still plodding away on the Austin Hoodie………..while watching The Pacific with the family……….and drinking tea for this stupid scratchy throat I now have/losing my voice (Jeanne, I don’t think it had anything to do with all the woohooing at Graduation Friday night)  I am not going to be sorry to see this school year end.  I can honestly say I’ve been the sickest in my 12 years there and darn if I’m not getting something else – or having a really, really bad time with allergies.  It’s really been pouring today, so if it is allergies, well the rain should help put that pollen down.   In the meantime, Tea with Honey, some knitting and TV on this rainy Sunday before the last two days of school seem to be the ticket!

10 responses »

  1. My daughter doesn’t scrapbook, but has always wanted a Cricut. I’ll be watching to see what you think of it.

    Get better quick!

  2. First off, congrats to Dan! Thanks for commenting on my blog. I didn’t do the drawing of the bird, its an element from Cosmo Cricket’s Earth Love line which the paper belongs to. That is such a cute card and I hope you enjoy your new toy. I’ve never played around with one too much but I know there are plenty of people who can’t craft without them so I’m sure you’ll get great use out of it.

  3. Congratulations to Dan on graduating. It is great when you can get something you really want and not have to pay full price….gotta love ebay. What a lovely card, I bet the recipient is going to love it.

  4. Congratulations to Dan!

    What a great card! I was at a craft expo recently and bought two cards by a women who did stamping/scrapbooking. They were amazing!

  5. Your card is super cute! Hope you are feeling better by now. Not too long ago I had a bug that started with the sore/scratchy throat…lost my voice and then it turned into the worst cough ever, leaving me with viral conjunctivitis. I was a mess….sure hope you didn’t catch that one 😉

    Congrats to your son!

Leave a Reply

