Sock it to me

Standard

Or……the first finished socks of 2010….

Diagonal Lace Socks, Cascade Heritage Paints.  Love them.  They could have been done faster, but the new puppy really cut into my knitting time, happily so.  I was down with an annoying cold this weekend, which really gave me some nice, quality knitting time/nap with the puppy time.  And due to the crappy weather today…..some catch-up-on-taking-pictures time.

Thermis Take Two – a birthday gift for my Sissy.  She’s allergic to wool, so I took the liberty of using some Organice Cotton and eliminating the button band – I didn’t think the drape of the cotton could support the look.  I’m happy with the way it turned out and just need to get it mailed to her.  I’ve made two of these, both gifts, so the next will be mine and I’ve got the perfect skein of Madtosh worsted waiting.

Beret for Me – Vine and Leaf Beret from Vogue. Rowan Cashsoft 4 ply – I loved the pattern the first time I knit it and immediately cast on for another – I really liked working with this yarn, too – it’s soft and squishy but has a nice stitch definition.

My current, mostly guilt free project of the moment……….

Haruni.  Fearless Fibers Superwash Merino – I’ve had this in my stash for a long time, so I’m not sure what it would equate to in her yarns now – love the color.  The pattern is amazingly gorgeous!  And it’s FREE!  Very generous to of the designer to offer this up for free and I’m going to dig right into knitting it as soon as this is published!

We have been updating the kitchen lately – new light fixtures, switching out cabinet hardware – which involved scrubbing and polishing the cabinets.  A word to the wise – when you polish your kitchen cabinets, do make sure you’ve gotten the stray polish off your kitchen floor – it’s surprisingly like slick ice with socks on and my tail bone can attest to that 🙂  Ouch!  But the cabinets look much better and no one can see the bruise on my arse!   The rest of the hardware has to be put in and a new faucet is the last upgrade we’ll make for now.  Kitchen counters will have to be replaced but that is on the way back burner.  I wish I had thought to take before/after photo’s – I really like what we did with the ceiling light above the sink and it really did take some creativity to figure it out.

Now…..lunch and Haruni are calling – Have a great week!

5 responses »

  1. That Haruni is such a pretty pattern! I’m a little shawl’d out (I have a few, and don’t often get a chance to wear those as it is!), but next time I get the urge, I’ll be all over that one!

Leave a Reply

