Not Bad

Standard

Ten days into the new year and I have some progress on a pair of socks….

Diagonal Lace Socks from Wendy’s Socks from the Toe Up.  Cascade Heritage yarn.  I’m happy with the progress, though I can be speedier with sock knitting, having a new puppy around may be cutting into my knitting time….but in a really good way.  Little Miss is conked out right now, she’s had an exhausting day, don’tchya know……we went for a ride in the car.  Almost made it all the way home, too, before she hurled.  Poor thing.  I’m trying to get her used to traveling in the car so she is well prepared for this summer’s camping trip.  Needless to say, she’s zonked and in her usual place – right next to me on the couch.  I know puppies usually outgrow car sickness – Bailee sure did.  So fingers crossed that Sophie will do as well.   She’s sleeping so soundly that I’ll get the second sock cast on and start knitting on it before she’s any wiser.

I’m glad I ripped the other socks I had on the needles – I really wasn’t getting any enjoyment out of knitting them and although I don’t set knitting goals for myself, I do want to make it a point this year to truly enjoy my knitting.  It’s one of the few things I do just for me, and it seems just silly not to really enjoy the heck out of everything I knit.  So I guess you could say that my only goal this year is to just enjoy my knitting, don’t be too hard on myself in respect to my yarn purchases and hopefully come out with some wonderful, wearable, handknits.  I think this past year I’ve really worn more of my handknits than ever before and it’s become a little habit of mine to count how many knits I’m wearing as I leave the house each morning.  Sometimes it’s just a pair of socks, but other times, it’s socks, a shawl, a sweater and a neckwarmer or hat.  I love that I can do that!

I have a few photos yet to take, some wonderful yarny gifts I received for the holidays and of course, more pictures of Sophie.  For now….I’ll sign off with a little photo I was able to capture of the puppy that she is….

My mom sent her a pair of Long Johns………..LOL!

8 responses »

  1. Isn’t that the truth? Life is too short not to enjoy our hobbies- there are alot of “have-to’s” in life, why not do what we want?

    She looks toasty in her longjohns.

  2. I have just discovered (through Ravelry) your blog and LOVE IT! I so relate to only knitting what you enjoy. I have spend too much time knitting something because I started it and hating every minute. What a sensible goal! Love the socks – so pretty. You have inspired me to unearth my sock wool and get out my dpn’s!

Leave a Reply

