Really Big Post and a Contest

Standard

First…..It’s a Marshmallow World…..That is six inches of what was supposed to be 1 to 3 inches of snow that fell yesterday!  I love snow! For Now!  But it was so pretty last night – it was the kind of snow that stuck to all the trees and perfect for snowballs.

Busy, busy weekend – shopping, knitting group, youngest DS joined the Fire Dept (I’m conflicted about this but so proud of him) Christmas Party, Migraine, Shop Update and a Contest to announce

Knitting Group was great – so nice to sit and chat/knit with friends.  The Party was great until the Migraine hit, but then again, I had so much fun before, I can’t complain.  Well, I can.  But I’m not going to.  Woke up feeling good enough to work on some of these….

Had some photo glitches this morning, but they are finally all photographed and listed in the SHOP just in time for the Holidays.  I’ll be updating more frequently this week with quite a few more.  If you’re looking for a special gift or just don’t see a color combination you want, just shout out and I’ll be happy to whip it up for ya!

On the knitting front, I ripped out Honeycomb and started a new project (to make up for the rippage and to get a quick project done so I don’t feel like a knitting failure, boo hoo)  I just couldn’t get into the stitch pattern on honeycomb even though I love the finished vests so much – I just wanted to poke an eye out and that’s just no good.  So I cast on for a quick knit….

Thermis, using some Cascade 220 I had in the stash.  I’m loving this knit and it’s going pretty fast.  I had planned to gift it, but just found out the giftee is allergic to WOOL.  Sigh.  I could keep it in mind for another giftee, or, horrors, keep it myself.  I have one other gift knit planned and really don’t doubt I’ll be able to get it done.  For now.

Now for that contest…..

When DH went away in November, he was sweet enough to get some yarn for me….

This is some Gorgeous Laceweight yarn from Catoctin Creek Farm, Romney Wool and Cashmere.  I have about 350 yards in that, there skein.  Here’s where the contest comes in…..leave me a comment between now and next Sunday with your pattern suggestion – I’d really like to make something in the Shawlette or Cowl Catagory, but any suggestion is welcome.  Annnnndddd – if you post a link to my contest on your blog, tell me that in your comment and you’ll get entered twice!

There will be three winners  – a Grand Prize of one of my DH’s Compact Portable Swifts…....

Second Prize will be one of my Shawl Pins.…..(the pin will be your choice of color combo, this is just an example)

and third prize will be a Hand Turned Nostepinne made by DH…..

Whew!  I’m really excited to see your suggestions, so Ready, Set, Go!!!!

and because I hope we get more snow this week…….

24 responses »

  1. What about Damson? Or a lace smoke ring cowl thing? Very pretty yarn – I think its going to be beautiful knit up.

    And the pins are gorgeous – as always!

  2. Okay, so I totally read “nosepinne.” Why would anyone want to win a nosepinne? How do you even use one?

    Shouldn’t read for comprehension so early on a Monday.

  3. Let’s see…there’s the Twilight/Gloaming Shawl, which I’m told has a very cool bindoff technique (http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/twilight-gloaming-shawl). Or maybe the Swallowtail Shawl? I’m alwasdys seeing that in dark colors, I think it would be lovely in that natural shade! Or maybe the Summer Shawlette (http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/summer-shawlette-2)? I come back to that one time and time again.

    Is it weird that I hope to win *second* place? I’d love a shawl pin!

  4. Someone beat me to the Traveling Woman suggestion! My next suggestion is the modified version of Gail (AKA Nightsongs) — the “Hopelessly Overcommitted” group on Ravelry has suggestions for making a smaller version with less yardage.

  5. Mmm, Romney/Cashmere – what a great excuse to plunder Ravelry’s pattern database!

    Purl’s Cashmere Cowl (Free)
    http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/purls-cashmere-cowl

    Knitspot’s Alhambra ($5)
    http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/alhambra-2

    This one’s especially pretty too:
    Moonlight Shawl ($4)
    http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/moonlight-2

    As luck would have it, I already own one of your husband’s AWESOME swifts! Your shawl pins are stunning! So much talent from one couple… 🙂

  6. Oooh, that is a big contest! Great prizes! Unfortunately, YOU’RE where I get all my shawl inspiration, so I can’t play, hahahha! But I will think hard and come back!

  7. I recommend Storm Cloud Shawlette. I’ve added a edge to the straight side to make it a bit more finished. Now I just need to seam it on! Dang I hate seaming. Thanks for having a contest!

Leave a Reply

