Redhook

Standard

I seldom use simple titles in my blog posts.  But this post deserves to stand on it’s own.

Redhook is finished.

Redhook collar

And I very rarely post photos of myself, but in this case, I’ll suck it up.  Well…..I tried to suck it in as far as I could….

Redhook done

I can’t say enough good things about this pattern.  It’s from the booklet Made in Brooklyn by jared flood, who in my opinion has got to be one of the most clever and talented pattern writers I’ve ever come across.  I was impressed with him when I made Cobblestone for Bob, but this, this design is just flawless.   I wanted to use a heavier yarn then what pattern calls for, so after I swatched, I ended up following the pattern for the size medium and it fits me perfectly.  I used some Berroco Ultra Alpaca that had been in my stash for awhile – I had originally cast on for another project a while ago, and really didn’t like the fabric the yarn was making.  This has got such a nice drape to it, it’s so soft and even though it’s a bit hairy, it’s really quite comfortable to wear.  I know I’m going to get a lot of use out of this sweater, especially around the house and at work – I think it’s perfect that the sleeves are little caps – so many times I need a sweater, but the bulk of the sleeves on my bulk is just, well, Bulky and a lot of the times too warm.  I can see myself making more of this type of sweater – as a matter of fact, I’ll be casting on for Rosamund’s Cardigan as soon as I’m done with this post!    This pattern went pretty fast for me –  another benefit to not having to knit big ole sleeves – I started this October 11 and Finished it today, November 1st  – it’s only had a light steam blocking, which seemed to be just right for this. I’m not totally loving the buttons, but that’s easily remedied when I find some that really call to me.

It feels good to get such a nice project finished and ready to wear!  I was able to get a lot of knitting time in this week and over the weekend – Halloween was pretty  quiet for us – I went to a girls night party Friday night, and yesterday was just a nice day spent at home – a little sad that we didn’t have trick or treaters, but we never had too many and all the neighborhood children are pretty big now so even the few we used to get are probably off doing more interesting things on their Halloween nights.  It really not much fun hiking up a mountain and trudging up and down people’s long driveways for candy!  I really can’t believe it’s November already…..and now it seems like the Holidays are right around the corner.  I get a little verclemped just thinking about it!

13 responses »

  1. I love it! It’s on my list to knit as well. What needle size did you use? I like B. Ultra Alpaca, have used it in the past, and have some in my stash. Really well done. I hope you’ll find buttons you like.

  2. Oh, hon, that’s just beautiful!!! I love the pattern, too, and it’s nice to know it went so smoothly for you! (Good vibes on the pattern, but Jared is just so talented!!!)
    You did a great job!
    (((hugs)))

Leave a Reply

