Weekend Update

Standard

Batten down the hatches…….We’re in for more snow! The feeders are extremely busy…..hold-on

Hold On…..available here and here. The birds are flocking to the feeders today – we had at least 30 Goldfinches swarming them this morning – and actually fighting off the other, bigger birds to get their share of peanuts.  I am easily entertained, as you can tell.

We’ve had a nice weekend – had our very best friends over for dinner Friday night – it’s so nice to be able to spend time with friends – I’m grateful to have such great friends in our lives.   Sharing a simple meal, talking and playing shuffleboard made for a really fun night – a nice way to start the weekend off.

I also started something else….

.textured-shawl

Textured Shawl.…..Berroco Comfort Dk…….easy knitting, and easy is all I can take right now.

I started a new treatment for my arm Wednesday….and because I’m incredibly stupid and it felt so much better, I made this….

cedar-orifice-hook

Eastern Red Cedar Orifice Hook – smells wonderful and you know cedar is good for warding off those beasties from your fiber.   My plan was to make 2 more of these and 3 black walnut – how bad could twisting a little bit of copper wire be?

Pretty flippin bad.

And then I lost my shit.

Had a little cry and now I’m adjusting.  I just can’t do the metal work right now.  I can’t twist (and shout) and hammer and manipulate the metal without hurting my flipping, sissy-ass arm.  Bob has kindly offered to do the twisting for me, so I can list a few more and keep selling – I don’t know if you’ve noticed, but there hasn’t been much jewelry making going on and it’s because of the arm.  If it wasn’t for Bob and Dan doing such a great job with the swifts, nostepinnes and spindles, I think I might have had to shut the etsy shop down for a little while.  I’m glad to be able to have them doing so well, and it’s not like the Shawl Pins will spoil (har har) but it’s been more than a bit of a downer for me to not be able to make the things I’ve got floating around in my head.   I’ve still got a few shawl pins and marker sets up for sale (get ’em while they’re there!) , but the stock is dwindling and I was hoping to be able to infuse the shop with some new color.  As long as my two woodworkers are doing well, I’ll keep it open for now, but jewelry wise I’ll just be listing what I’ve already made and possibly some earring sets I’ve got in stock.  This has been hard for me to admit, but I’m just going to have to let my arm heal and stop messing the process up with being to itchy to sit at the metal bench.

As I mentioned earlier, we are in for a winter storm – which means we will probably have the day off from school tomorrow – three day weekend anyone?

Have a Great week!

16 responses »

  1. Oh, I’m sorry about your arm Christianne. That must be so frustrating, I can’t imagine. I had a brief RSI a couple of years ago but thank God it went away quickly. I’ve taken care ever since.

    I love that photo – love it so much. I am thinking whether a print is in the budget for spring…

  2. Oh, I’m sorry you’re not all better yet – you’re too good to not be producing! Hopefully it won’t be much longer. LOVE the photo of the bird – it looks like he’s holding on to the food, saying “This is mine; back off buddy!”

  3. Oh, sweetie, I have no words.

    So instead I will tell you that I absolutely LOVE the photo of the bird eating! The look on his little face is too funny.

  4. The metal mojo will return one day. You’ve certainly replaced it with stunning photo skills!

    And I love, love, love the grey for the shawl!

  5. I’m so sorry it’s not much better. I’ll keep my fingers crossed for the new treatment.

    Love the bird pic! You can almost hear it saying, “Mine! You no take it!” (lol Sorry…I imagine all animals talking in LOL-speak now.)

    Stay warm!

  6. “Yeah, like you think you’re getting any of MY seeds!!!”

    Great picture.

    Sorry about the sucky arm. Get better soon!!

  7. That hook is gorgeous! Not being a spinner though, I did have a completely different visual in mind for “orifice hook” that wasn’t… er… appealing…

  8. The photo of that cute, huggable titmouse is a winner. He his holding onto both bowl and seed for dear life. Birds can sense bad weather coming before people, so I think he was stocking up on goodies while they were in the taking! I definitely want to get a copy of this to show my Japanese bird watching friends. This is poster/calendar material Chris. Think about sending it into a bird magazine.
    The shawl is beautiful and the color so soft. Letting your arm rest from hard work will pay off later on!

  9. That kind of extreme impatience when the body just won’t cooperate with the to do list in head leads to such frustration doesn’t it? Its a different pain than the physical kind but at times just as excrutiating! I feel for you – hand in there!

  10. Oh no…I’m soooooooo sorry. I can only imagine how awful such news must be. I started using the lovely stitch markers I got from you last on my Valkyrie Seraphim shawl, and was going to post a photo with link…I think I still will – it won’t hurt, if you sell out, now will it?
    🙂
    I’m sending you healing thoughts and
    (((((((hugs)))))))

  11. i’m so sorry about your arm. you know i know how frustrating it is to wait for it to heal. if you ever need a shoulder to cry on or someone to bitch at, you know where to find me.

Leave a Reply

