Happy Valentine’s Day

Standard

valentine-flowers

Flowers from Bob – Happy Valentine’s Day!

Today is the second day of my four day weekend – I love this particular weekend in February – we have four days off and it’s a little slice of heaven that never fails to please me.  I had the day to myself yesterday as everyone else was working/schooling…..so I ran a few errands, went to visit our local Reservoir and Natural Area and bought a nice sandwich for my lunch.  I took quite a few photo’s while I was up at the reservoir….

is-this-my-best-side

I’m especially proud of this one because I knew what I wanted to do and just kept shooting till I got what I thought I had visualized – which is something I don’t really do a lot when making images – but I’m starting to branch out and want to do more, seeing more in my minds eye before I hit the shutter.

I also plan on some light knitting – the arm is acting the hell up – I was supposed to be released from PT and wasn’t, I’m getting fustrated and more than a little pissed off and I hope that doctor is prepared for our visit on the 23rd, because I want some further tests – I’m not making progress past this point and actually backsliding – totally not acceptable to me.  I know I haven’t been blogging a lot – which is probably due to the fact that I’ve not been knitting as much, but I am trying to keep up with the the knitting community.  I know I was in a funk, partly due to the arm, and I think partly due to something else that happened around the holidays – not something I want to get into here…but I think it added to the knitting funk/slump and I’m quite annoyed that I let it.  I notice that when I associate a hobby I love with people, sometimes if I get let down by a person, the hobby suffers for it.  I don’t know why – maybe it’s because I assoicate that hobby with the let down?  I don’t know.  But, however rambling this sounds….I’m done with that too!  I miss my hobby, which is MY hobby, and I do it for me.  So, I’d like to get back to that.  I miss the peace I found in it, the calm I could find when I had a rough day, the productiveness I felt when I finished something.  I know the arm is going to hold me back and I can’t help that – but I can help letting the other stuff seep into it and take some of the joy away.

With all that in mind…I’m making slow but steady progress on another sock….

eaglesflight-socks

Eagles Flight socks…..I’m really liking how these are turning out and I’m happy to be working on them…for now!

And I keep looking at this….

malabrigo-sock-yarn

That wiley Malabrigo that gave me such a hard time while I was trying to wind it…..I want to find just the right pattern – any ideas?

The new Interweave Knits arrived yesterday….and right away I thumbed through it and was so happy to see the article “Start as Many New Projects as You Can” by Vicki Square…….and I feel free!  I’ve always kinda felt that way about my projects – but let the guilt creep in when I thought I had too many on the needles – not by my standards, but by what other knitters might think….but the heck with that!  I’ve finished my fair share of projects and I’m not going to to let what I have on the needles boss me around anymore into thinking I can’t cast on for something if I really want to!  There are quite a few lovelies in this issue that I’m really looking at making – Delphine, Fountain Pen Shawl, Sweet Lily Shawl, Silk Cocoon Cardigan to name a few.

Finally, I was given an award by Knitnana

bloggeraward

Thank you Sallee, for thinking of me!  I’m flattered and honored to say the least.  I have to select my 7 bloggers to pass this onto and I’ll be posting that next time!

We are going out to dinner tonight, celebrating with some friends this Valentine’s day – I’m looking forward to it.  I hope you have a lovely day and a wonderful weekend!

8 responses »

  1. I read that article and had the same reaction. 🙂 This whole last year, I beat myself up over all my UFOs (granted, I am glad I finished the CPH). Like you, I’m not going to worry about it anymore.

    Sorry to hear about your arm. Hopefully a new round of tests will show something that can be fixed.

  2. Beautiful flowers! I like the birdy picture as well. I’m more a 1-3 WIP’s on the needle kind of person, but lately I’m itching to cast on several things. If I do, I know I’m not happy. Congrats on the Creative Blogger award!

  3. i’m so sorry you’ve been in a funk. i hope things start to look up for you. take back your hobby!

    the photos in this post are absolutely breathtaking!

Leave a Reply

