A Little Knitting

Standard

its-a-bird

Really. There has been a little knitting going on.  Not much, but I did get the first FO of 2009 done.ribbed-cowl

Cowls are pretty easy for me right now – This is just something I made up – 2 x 2 rib, alternating every six rows.  I had some Dream in Color Classy left over from my sons Turn a Square and this was perfect for using up the rest of that skein.

forest-canopy-cowl

I wanted something a little bit more challenging, and yet not too difficult on the arm so I started this Forest Canopy Cowl – with some Manos Silk Blend from stash – I have two skeins of this.  I’ll probably make another cowl with the other skein but in another pattern – Maybe Dragonfly Fire  Cowl.  I know, it’s a lot of cowls, but with the cold weather slamming in this week – I know I’ll use them over and over.  And it keeps me knitting right now.  Which is something I really want to do, but I also need to let my arm heal.  Marathon knitting is not in my future right now.

I have 5 more weeks of Physical Therapy – the PT thinks I did more than just tendoitis – and that’s a little scary but it explains all the other symptoms I’m having.  The PT is working and it is feeling better but I’m told it will be months before I can resume my “regular” activities.

sigh.

Anywho, that’s enough of a pity party.  I’m working on picking up socks here and there and knitting a few rows, taking an online Photography course, bringing exercising back into my day and that all should keep me pretty darn busy! I’m almost caught up on reading blogs – did a little housecleaning because a lot of those I had in my reader have been abandoned by their owners.  I may not be commenting much – typing/arm thing, but I’m still reading and I appreciate all the comments and readers that have stuck around.  Posting may be light, but I’ll make it here at least once a week to update and check in.

Knitting group was cancelled yesterday (by me, har har) because we had ourselves a lovely winter storm with nice, white fluffy snow!  Love the snow.  Don’t like the ice storm we had wednesday, but the snow – I’ll take that.  DH is at the Giants/Eagles game today, my shopping trip with the younger son is done (wedding clothes for an upcoming family wedding, ack!) and I’m going to tuck in, knit a little, watch some TV, order some Chinese in and watch a movie with my boys.  Hope you all have a relaxing day and a wonderful week.

I’ll leave you with this…..let-the-light-in

14 responses »

  1. I have great sympathy for you with your tendinitis. I had it a few years ago and it was hard…it seemed to take forever to get back to normal. I never stopped knitting, but I did wear a brace when I did. Fortunately it did go away. For me the cortisone shot was a dream come true. I had relief. Sorry to hear it made yours worse.Good luck with your therapy. Hopefully you’ll be back to normal real soon.

    Love your bird photos…superb 🙂

  2. Of course cowls are like tits on a bull here in Florida but I vividly remember how annoying keeping tabs on a scarf was when I grew up in NY — I saw cowl to your hearts content! 🙂

    Take care of yourself Chris and feel better soon!

  3. A couple of year’s ago I had no use of my right arm for three months and limited use for two months thereafter. I feel your pain but at least you are on your way to all better!

  4. Your photos are gorgeous! I had to jump right over from my google reader to check them out for a closer look. I love the vibrant blue of the cowl – looks warm and cozy too!

  5. Oh, I think you have every right to whine – not that you really were, even! But it’s hard to cut down on something you love and are so good at. I can’t believe you, of all people, need a photography course – your photos are as gorgeous as your knitting. Anyway, heal as quick as you can, and don’t worry! We’ll all be back when you’re ready!

  6. I said this was going to be the year of the cowl, and then I only made myself one and it’s too loose. My new job is in a frigid office where just about everyone wears fingerless mitts all day (thank goodness for my Fetchings) but I do love a cowl.

    I love your 2×2 rib; it looks much more exotic!

Leave a Reply

