West and WeWaxation

Standard

Ah.  Four days off.  School is closed for the NJ Convention and that allows us to enjoy a four day weekend.  It seems like a little vacation – or at least I’m going to try to treat it that way.  Things have been soooooo hectic and wildly out of control lately – I think I can allow it.

I mentioned a package from Japan in my last post – my SIL – Susan, lives in Japan.  We were able to visit on her last trip  to the states in July  and she surprised me with this package – which was a little beam of light during that power outtage…

105

That, my friends is a BOX of YARN from Japan!!!!!  Woweee!  I’m in a little bit of heaven.  First – I don’t think I’ve ever been gifted a Box of yarn.  Second – the yarns are so different from what I’ve seen  here.  I can’t wait to try them out.

106

My BIL – Shunji – included a sweet gift for me, too.  A Necklace to put your scissors on – and let me say – it’s really pretty – and I’m so touched that he did that.  I plan on using the  Japanese Lace pattern book I have and I think some of those patterns will be perfect for trying out these yarns!  Thanks, you two!!!

108

One sleeve to go on the February Lady Sweater – and onto the next project – which I think is going to be the Aleita Shell from the Spring ’08 Interweave Knits.  I’m trying to expand my wardrobe for work with some classic pieces and this just looks like I’ll get a lot of years out of it.  I should be finished with that sleeve today – I’m running errands and popping by my closest yarn shop to see what they offer in Silky Wool – I can see that working very well with this vest. I do have a back up yarn – Debbie Bliss Cotton Cashmere, in the wings if the search for the silky wool doesn’t work out.    It’s a blustery, drizzly day and I plan on getting what I have to do out of the way, so I can enjoy what I WANT to do!

Have a great day!

9 responses »

  1. That’s a sweet care package!

    I’m also looking for the next project, and I think it’s going to be Hey, Teach. I can definitely wear that to work. I’ve been wearing FLS, and that’s a good look.

    Our kids are off for four days starting Saturday. Except there’s a marching band practice Monday morning, and marching in the parade on Tuesday, so they’re not really off after all. No impromptu vacation for us!

  2. That is so sweet! How very thoughtful!! My kids are off too for the NJEA Convention. It has been a very long day so far. Glad you have off and can get some knitting done. Can’t wait to see what you do with your box of yarn.

Leave a Reply

