Knitwear? Or Sleepwear?

Standard

Gale, Birthday Cowl and Fetchings.

Or.

How to Accessorize your Velour Pajamas.

Or.

How to keep warm when the power/heat is out.

Thankfully, power was restored around 4pm Thursday.  The road was still being cleaned up of all the tree debris yesterday.  When I talked to my Dad, who is only one state away – he hadn’t heard a thing about the storm we had!  That’s typical for weather events in Northwest NJ – we rarely make the weather maps unless it’s major destruction.  But I have to tell you – I was still seeing power trucks from OHIO yesterday, driving around this area.

I was standing in the driveway with my Neighbors, chit chatting about our latest ideas for keeping warm, keeping the food loss down, and just general kvetching when my friend Lois looked up at my house and said “Is that a LIGHT on in your LIVING ROOM??????”  And then my showerless son burst out of the house, onto the front porch, arms raised Rockystyle and yelled “SHOOOOOOWWWWER”!!!!  By the time I made it back into the house, he was already in the shower.  We were surprised to get power back so early as the last reports were very late Thursday night or possible even Saturday.  Whew. or Phew.  Whichever way you want to look at it.

I had to toss the refrigerator contents, but the freezers were fine.  I kept a list, because I heard a rumor that the power company will reimburse you?  But I’m not too hopeful.

The Birthday Cowl was finished in time for bed Wednesday night  – The yarn is Manos and it only took one skein – with a bit leftover – it’s plenty long enough – the pattern states 9.5 inches and I think we’re a little past that.  I love it and plan on knitting a few more.  Quick and easy in thick yarn like this.  Perfect gift giving, too!

Back to the FLS – we are booking along on the lace part – but darn if I keep mucking it up every few rows!  I think my mind just wanders and I do a yarn over in the wrong place – which is easily corrected, but still.  You would think this far in, I’d be a little more “ept” at it.

Packages need to be packed – orders and prizes and yarn sold!  I posted some yarn on my Ravelry page and it has already sold!  I’m thinking of throwing some more up there.  Packages need to be photograghed – presents from Japan……..I’ve got some catching up to do!

Have a Great Weekend!

14 responses »

  1. Hooray for showers and power! Two of the most wonderful things in the world when you’ve been without for a while. 🙂

    Our Homeowner’s Insurance has covered food loss before (if it’s over a certain amount). Not sure about the Power Co., though.

  2. Lovely knitting
    Just a quick heads up – you might be busy (I hope)
    I have two new designs coming out this month and your shawl pin is on BOTH of them 🙂
    The Inside Loop wanted a link so I pointed them in the direction of your etsy shop …… 😉

  3. I didn’t realize you were left in the dark! I hope this is not a preview of things to come this winter! We were spared all but a dusting of snow. Today it will be 60.

Leave a Reply

