Yay!!!!!

Standard

Acting upon some super secret information I was given yesterday…………the alarm was set for 6:30.  Plans were in place – arrive at 7, hope they give out tickets and then wait till 8am when the store opens.  All so that we can do this…

We were number 1 in line – followed by a few people – Target staff was well prepared – they came out quite a few times to hand out tickets, assuring us that there were plenty of Wii Fits to be had.  Mario Kart was also hot – but my youngest had given that to me for Mom’s day.  We also picked up Wii Ski – I made the mistake of not getting the Wii Fit when it came out and I’m not doing that again. 

Lemme tell you, the strength training on this is not for the obese of heart.  Yowza.  But my Wii Fit age is 48 – not too shabby since I’m going to be 46 and need to firm up, so to speak.  More like shore up.  The whole family has created their Mii’s, entered their information and we are set to get more active.  Right now we are having the most fun with the balance exercises – and looking forward to the hula hooping – but can’t find it – we’re guessing you have to earn it.  But I was so looking forward to bustin’ a move with that. 

It’s so stinkin hot (yes, stinkin) that it’s perfectly alright with me if we stay in the cool, airconditioned bedroom and get in our exercise and family time. 

I’ve started a little something new – this poor sea silk has been ripped so many times, I’m hoping it holds up..

Tilting Block pattern from A Second Treasury of Knitting Patterns.  I’ve been eyeing the Storm Water Shawl on Ravelry, and while I was browsing through my BW books yesterday, I came across this Tilting Blocks pattern  which looks very similar to me. Not to take away from the pattern writer by any means, but I’m happy to use the resources I have in my many books to enable me to create something I like.   I’m not sure what edgings the actual pattern provides, but I preferred to not have  much in the way of an edging since I’m working with a 660 yard skein and I’m not sure how much mileage I’ll get out of it.  I’ve always wanted to put together a lace pattern from these books, and while this certainly wasn’t doing that in the least, I really had fun looking through and getting some ideas on what patterns would look nice paired with certain edgings.  I’ve often wondered how designers create such beautiful combinations of patterns – I can see a lot of patterns in these books that remind me of things I’ve made or have in my queue, but the designers always seem to add elements in a way that makes the design their own.  It was a nice way to spend the hot weather – sequestered in the bedroom, staying cool, getting some great ideas, working on a new project and watching the all day marathon of Deadliest Catch, with my very favorite narrator, Mr. Mike Rowe.  I can’t believe this season is ending on Tuesday already – I really love that show. 

I really appreciate all your comments on me being Grandma’d.  I come from a family that is not really that into my kind of hobbies.  So it makes the distance between us a little larger when someone says something like that.  It’s ok though – makes the work load a little easier on me now, being that my knitting to do list just became a wee bit shorter! 

This week brings some major cleaning in the Studio (s) and since I just bought a little AC unit for the spare room with the intention of putting it in my studio, I really don’t have much of an excuse not to get to it – the room I occupied before has got to be cleaned out once and for all, decisions have to be made on what to keep and what goes and things have to be put in their place or a place has to be made for it all.  I’d like to have it done by my birthday, which is rapidly approaching.  And birthdays are supposed to be fun – I’m thinking another contest may be in order.  Hmmmmmmm – stay tuned for details.

12 responses »

  1. While impressed by your dedication to fitness, and everyone having already made their Miis, I think the most awesome thing is that you had inside Target info!!!

  2. My Mom managed to snag one for my birthday, too. 🙂 She just happened to be in the right place at the right time. I lurves it. Although, did yours make that little “OH!” noise when you stepped on it for the initial setup? The hubby is still making fun of me for that one.

  3. I love BW’s books and it ‘s so much fun to make a project from one of her stitch pattern 🙂 Yours looks like it’s coming along nicely. Good luck and stay cool!

  4. Congrats on the Wii Fit! You do have to earn the hula hooping – but much fun will be had once you do. ;o)

    Good for you on making your knitting ‘to do’ list shorter – though I think you should make your Mom a pair of handknit socks. After you give them to her and she wears them and exclaims how much she loves them, you tell her that she’ll never, ever get another pair since she dissed you on the knitting. That way she knows what she’s missing…oh and yes, I am evil that way. ;o))

  5. Love the color of the sea silk. I don’t have a Wii. Is the fit program just one whole program or do you have to buy several parts??? Everyone is talking about how cool and fun it is.

  6. I was reading your previous post, and I want to tell you that no-one has “Grandma’d” me- I would be the most unlikely grandmother ever, and I am 46.

    You never need to apologize for who you are- it’s just a comment from someone who doesn’t understand, and doesn’t have joy from a hobby.

    I actually feel bad for people like that.

  7. Hate that “Oh!” noise from the fit. Hate it. We were the first ones in the family to have a Wii but we don’t have a fit (in our hands) yet. Evidently my m-i-l (who does have one) managed to find us one. In Atlanta no less while on vacation. I can’t wait to get my hands on it . . . Incidentally, in spite of being quite overweight the Wii thinks I’m 30. Bless it’s little heart for being right.

    Love the colourway of the Seasilk and I’m starting to have some major urges to do some serious lace . . . Enabler!

  8. Lucky you, tyou go the wii! I see it takes planning to get one. I have a skein of sea silk I don’t know what to do with. I, too would love to be a grandma, but alas, my boys don’t seem to have children on their agendas, sigh.

  9. This is really embarrassing, but it took me over a season of watching Deadliest Catch to realize that the narrator was Mike Rowe. I think I was hypnotized by Sig. Yeah. That’s my story and I’m stickin’ to it. 😉

Leave a Reply

