Univited Guest

Standard

We’ve been wondering what has been getting into the bird feeder – we thought it was probably a squirrel.  But this feeder is supposed to be squirrel proof.  I guess it really is.   This one is not so easily scared away – I yelled at it and set it running to the words “This ain’t no take out”  only to have Bob go out 10 minutes later and holler at it again.  And I’m fairly sure that it was the same deer that set off the motion light at 11:45 last night, too.  And the one that probably butchered one out of the two Lupines we’ve ever been successful growing.  Stupid deer. 

School’s out!!!  And it is officially vacation time.  I plan on using the time wisely…..

What Ten Minutes a Day gets you?  600 yards of nice Merino Top, about fingering weight.  I was quite surprised to get that much yardage, but pleased. 

 

And because I just can’t leave on vacation without starting something else…..this is going to be the February Lady Sweater.  I love the look of this sweater and especially the description the pattern writer puts in – “made to fit a grown-ass woman”.  This is what I am.  A Grown-ASS woman!!    The yarn?  That’s the Queensland Kathmandu DK, I just scored on ebay.  DK.  uh, not so much.  I orginally purchased it for the B-Side cardy, but the swatch was a titch too big and no amount of needle magic was getting me that gauge I needed or wanted to fiddle with.  This is working up spot on for this pattern – which calls for worsted weight.  And on the same size needles the pattern calls for.  What choice do I have?  It’s coming along on vacation – it’s been a bit cooler lately and I’m hoping the trend continues on in Vermont.  And then Maine.  I do have backup projects and of course, the inevitable trips to yarn shops I find – I’m not worried.  The little Hitchhiker wheel is loaded up with fiber and ready to pack.  The camper is repaired and newly tented.  Everything is washed except those last two loads of clothes.  The last minute errands get done this morning and the house tiding this afternoon.  We might even leave a little later than usual, since we are heading to Vermont first, instead of Maine/New Hampshire.  Rain is in the forecast – but I’ve got books, suduko, card games, Ipod, and knitting to occupy.  We head on over to Maine on Thursday next week and spend the rest of the camping trip there – kayaks are being racked and ready to go for the Basin Lake we camp around.  Our oldest is housesitting – we will definitely miss him, but it’s comforting to have things in such capable hands. 

Well, that’s it for now – enjoy your days and Happy Knitting!

17 responses »

  1. “This ain’t no take out”

    Hahahahahah! Hee.

    Heh.

    I can’t wait to see how the February Lady Sweater comes out! I definitely have my eye on that pattern, just am not sure what from my plentiful stash is the best yarn…

  2. You should get a water scarecrow. My MIL uses one to keep the heron’s from fishing in her pond & eating her koi. They are just a motion sensor with a sprinkler head on it. Works like a charm!

  3. The squirrels in our yard drive me nuts, a deer would be welcome. We have a highway behind us and have seen one deer in the back yard but not lately.

    I can’t wait to see your February Sweater, I want to make one, too.

    Have a great vacation!

  4. Love the yarn! The colors remind me of the yarn Jeanne gifted me. Now, by saying I love it, you’re not obliged to give it to me… especially since it’s fingering weight 😉

    See you next week- I hope.

  5. I love the colors of your handspun. So pretty! It’s amazing what 10 minutes a day can produce.

    I too am a grown-ass woman and I want to make that sweater too! I love the yarn you chose.

    You have a Hitchhiker?? How cool! Did you pimp it up?

    Have a great vacation!

  6. AH!! That’s why the etsy shop is closed! Have a wonderful time…and thanks for the link to the Lady Sweater – I just may try that one myself – it’s lovely!
    ((((hugs))))

Leave a Reply

