Inspiration

Standard

Bleeding Hearts, Waterloo Village, Stanhope, NJ

After finishing the Diagonal Cross Rib Socks, I knew I wanted to start another pair – of course.  How can you not have a pair of sock on the needles?  What would I do when I’m waiting in the doctors office, or at Motor Vehicle? 

Funny how Nature Inspires…………….

Ancient Threads Farm – Tri – lac, longwood gray – purchased at Rhinebeck, 2007.

Of course, those bleeding hearts colors just stuck in my head, and after the other socks were done – I quickly cast on for these – Undulating Rib Socks from Favorite Socks.  Again, I really like this book, very glad to have finally purchased it.  The pattern is very simple and not easy to see here due to the glaring sunlight.  The colors are a little more gray than the photo shows.  The knitting has come in handy as I’ve had a bit of time here and there at work where I must be present, seen but not really heard.  I would absolutely go stark raving mad just sitting and doing nothing.  One repeat takes about 30 minutes or so. 

Still on the other needles – Gale and Twinings – not forgotten at all, just savoring the knitting and frankly, I’m not in a rush – these stoles will be worn many times and I’m actually preplanning what to take on our vacation in June – the stoles would make great vacation knitting – but I just might be finished with Gale by then. 

Where do you find your inspiration?

10 responses »

  1. I would use flowers for my inspiration if we had any. Do you and I live on the same planet, I wonder? Spring does not seem to be arriving on mine.

  2. Gorgeous – I read this on the train with no picture and only saw “bleeding heart” and “longwood grey” and then spent the next 60 minutes wondering how those two things were related.

  3. Lovely!

    I find my inspiration already there in the pattern books. My mom chuckles at me sometimes, because I have always had trouble seperating the pattern from the color it is shown in. We used to look at sewing patterns and she would ask “do you like that dress?” And I would respond “I don’t like the color”. Never mind that I could make it in any color I want!

  4. wow, nature certainly inspired you. Very nice. I like the sock yarn and paired with that pattern, it’s just lovely.

    Hmm, I guess I find my inspiration either from things around me or from others. Hard to say.

Leave a Reply

