Lonely Never More

Standard

Done!  Fini!  Completo!  How in the world can it take nearly a month to knit one sock and three days to knit it’s partner?  I don’t know.  I was very motivated to finish these and I really love them.  There a little too blue in this photo – Jessi’s yarn is just wonderful to work with – I highly recommend you add at least a few skeins to your sock stash.  I will certainly be going back for more. 

I had a lovely Mother’s Day.  I hope all the Mom’s out there were doing what that wanted with their families.  I am missing my oldest – who has finals and is coming home for the summer this Wednesday – I totally get why he couldn’t come home, but I miss him just the same.  My DH presented me with a one of a kind, upright swift – specially made with brass hardware!  I now have my own and shall not be coveting or accidentally not shipping someone else their swift so I can keep one!  Youngest son presented me with Mario Kart for WII – which is a riot and so much fun – plus, I get to spend game time with my kids.  We spent the earlier part of the day wandering around the run down park that used to be Waterloo Village in Stanhope – I hadn’t been there in a few years and the last time I was, it was a fully functioning village restoration that was just a great place to take your family and friends.  Now it seems it’s fallen into disrepair and the only thing open was the church for Sunday services.  What a shame.  I hope the state gets their act together and works towards preserving the history we have here.  We were able to walk around and get some nice photo’s of wildlife – a LOT of snakes are in and around the water – the nasty ones that aren’t poisonous but will bite you and hang on.  Black snakes?  I don’t know but we lost count how many we saw.  We had a nice ride and ended up at Gunnar’s Landing for lunch – sitting outside on the deck and enjoying the beautiful day.  The rest of the day was spent on the patio, finishing up that sock and playing with the bunny. 

I’m looking forward to seeing College kid on Wednesday – the weeks are starting to fly by – we have less than a month of school left before summer vacation.  This has got to be the fastest school year on record!

Enjoy the rest of your day and have a great week!!

 

 

13 responses »

  1. Lovely socks. I’m definitely going to add some of that yarn to the stash once I recover from my vacation. I’m glad you had such a lovely Mother’s Day.

  2. skinny snakes? chubby?? If they’re skinny, I’m gonna guess black racers. Chubby, they’re probably water snakes. Dontcha love when they do that chewing thing??

    The socks are all kinds of gorgeous. Very nice.

    Mom got her bling today and she loves it. Thanks again!

  3. Your socks are beautiful. I love the blue color 🙂 I can so relate to missing your son. I was lucky mine came home after being away for 6 weeks and now we probably won’t see him again til graduation. The time goes by fast though and then we’ll see him more this summer even though he’s working at school for the summer. Sounds like you had a wonderful Mother’s Day 🙂

Leave a Reply

