I Might Have a Problem

Standard

gust.jpg

But admitting it is the first step, right?  That’s two repeats of Anne Hanson’s Gust.  You might be wondering……well, what’s her problem now???

There isn’t a problem with the pattern – it’s flawless and a joy to knit as usual.  There isn’t a problem with the yarn – it’s Jade Sapphire Cashmere in Tourmaline – pure, decadent and like butter to knit.  My problem is…………this is one of two of Anne’s patterns I’m currently knitting…………..and after having just completed her Totally Autumn throw – people may be thinking I might be a little addicted to her work.  Well, I am.  How can you not be?  They are just wonderful patterns and I’ve even got another in queue – Hypotenuse – that will be cast on after Gust is done.  This is probably going to be a quick knit and I like to line the projects up, don’t you know. 

The Jade Sapphire was just one of a few, ahem, aquisitions I might have made yesterday on our Knitting Group Yarn Crawl.  Organized by Jeanne, our fearless leader in knit, it was one of the best times I’ve had.  We visited three yarn shops – two before lunch and one after and I can honestly tell you – 10 knitters probably made those three shops pretty happy we came visiting – I don’t think we all made purchases at all of them – well, I did.  But most of us did and that’s quite the shopping haul.  Thanks Jeanne for organizing a really fun time – and driving us, too!  I know I said I’d take photo’s of that mano’s, but I’m really not getting out of this comfy chair right now………but I promise, I will! 

The Schmoo is still sick.  Thank you so much for all the get well wishes – they really cheered him up.  He will be home at least until mid-week next week when he goes back to the doctor.  He may have to be home tutored if he is going to be out any longer than that.  He definitely has taken up residence on the couch and I’ve set him up with loads of movies, juice, cough drops, a magic eight ball, playdough (yes he’s a teenager, but hey, it’s entertaining him) books and what not. 

I know weird weather isn’t unusual this winter, but damn if we didn’t have rain and lightning last night ,and today?  Snow Squalls and Wild Winds.  We have a nice white coating right now, but the winds are howling and the snow is horizontal while it’s coming down.    I know there are blizzards and nasty conditions elsewhere, so I’m not going to be complaining about a few snow squalls – it’s just interesting to watch while knitting away the afternoon.  Happy Knitting!

14 responses »

  1. Gust looks great! I really like it in a solid color. I haven’t decided what yarn I want to use to make one. I think I have almost everyone of her patterns, some are waiting patiently with the yarn ready to be started. I just need to finish a few things before I can start one of my list. I have yarn picked out for Hypotenuse and look forward to seeing yours.

  2. Wow…I’ve heard of a blizzard, but a snow squall? That just sounds a little freaky. *shudder* I guess it’s because I think of squalls that you get while out in the ocean and those scare the mess out of me.

    That’s a lovely pattern, btw! (Schmoo, the Magic 8 Ball says, “Get Better!”)

  3. Oh that’s gorgeous! And cashmere? Cashmere?! Talk about decadence!

    It’s so easy to get addicted to Anne’s designs. Plus, she’s so prolific you could easily knit her designs on an exclusive basis for quite awhile.

  4. I adore Anne’s patterns, too! But I’ve only just gotten to pair of the Fine Cabled Mitts done.
    ;(
    One of these days, I’m going to knit for me! Stay safe in these weird windy days…
    (((hugs)))

Leave a Reply

