Where I Cook My Own Goose

Standard

mmmmm.jpg

 mmmmmmm.  A nice warm drink on a nice cold day in a sweet sheep mug. 

The sleeping thing went ok.  Well, it wasn’t the usual suspects that woke me up at 4:30 am.  It was the damn Fire Radio.  I hates it.  And it went off 4 times.  The Archive place in town has had their automatic alarm go off at least 5 times this week.  Archive place?  Don’t give a shit if my medical records burn up at 4:30 in the AM.  Fix your damn alarm system. 

But I did go back to sleep and managed to get an extra hour.  This is good.  I will accept this.  Like I really have a choice. 

So.  How do you cook your own Goose, you ask?

I have a fairly nifty new car.  It has the Seat Warmer feature in it.  Wherein, you press a button on the dash and your seat, the part your ass sits on, is heated up.  Hot.  Two dots is too many.  Granted, it was 41 degrees out, I was cold, I was longing to use this heating thing.  I’m loving the heating thing.  But it’s not good to cook ones own ass.  Nope.  Not a good feeling.  And surprisingly, not a feeling you can identify right away.  I’m guessing this is because generally, we do not apply heat to our asses on a regular basis.  So a little hard to recognize, that, yes – I believe my ass is now on fire.  I was thinking of driving over to the archive place to have the fire department put it out – at least I know where they are lately. 

garter-rib-socks-finished.jpg

Finished the Garter Rib Socks last night.  Another great pattern from Sensationl Knitted Socks.  Love those books.  And yes, I started them in August (I think.  The ass heating burned some memory functions in my brain) and finished them in November.  Who’s counting?  And the Trekking XXL is loverly to knit with.  Glad I have another skein…….

shibui-socks.jpg

Ahhhhhh.  Shibui.  Most lovely.  I was entirely going to lemming the yarn and the pattern Nova Made used, because when Opal sent me this photo, this is what made me want the yarn.  But, I’m going to dare to be different.  And you’ll have to wait till tomorrow to find out what pattern I settled on.  Nope.  Not gonna spill.  I need something to post about tomorrow. 

And you can be damn sure I’m not going to be cooking this goose again. 

8 responses »

  1. My sister has been exclaiming over her heated seats for years. In May, I bought a used car that has them. Over the summer I was driving around and I thought, darn these leather seats get hot. The button to turn them on is between the two front seats and I had turned them on high by mistake.
    I guess I will appreciate in the middle of winter.

    Love the socks.

  2. I love my heated seats – I wouldn’t buy a car without it! You wait until its really cold – you will appreciate it then. Great looking socks! Can’t wait to see what you are making with the Shibui….

  3. Heated seats are the greatest thing. I never had them until I bought a new car just over a year ago, and I’ll never be without them again. (Well, until I move someplace warmer and get my cooled seats.) I love those blue socks!

  4. Oh the Pagoda looks absolutely fabulous. I’m trying to be so good about the yarn buying. I’m not sure why, but I am. It’s like an endurance sport at this point.

Leave a Reply

