My Terrible, Horrible, No Good, Very Bad Sweater

Standard

frickin-minimalist.jpg

Can you see that?  Look at that.  That is the third time, and the identical problem all three times.   On the same side.  Plus that hump on the right, just after the ribbing?  Happened all three times too.  Looks like ASS.  There is no way I can see this sucker blocking out for me.  I mean, I’d be better off cutting it to make it right, and we all know that cutting it is just Crazy Talk.  So, after imploring Techknitter, and having her very kindly look into the matter for me – she assured me she thought it probably  wasn’t my knitting, but in fact the yarn – and offered me advice on how to knit two swatches to check that theory (which I intend to do after I am done beating the living crap out of that yarn for torturing me) – I have decided to cast on in a different color of Cascade – and not “The Heathers” Just plain ole Cascade 220. 

minimalist-ll.jpg

Now that’s what I’m talkin about.  You see?  It looks normal.  No slanty biasing crap going on here.  Well, at least not yet.  But I’m feeling good about this one.  I’m still a little pissed because I was really loving the greenieness of the first mini – but hell if I could stop that slanting from going on.  Three times and I’m done.  I could have had the whole damn sweater knit by now.  Talk about dumbassery – you would think I would have stopped after the second time, no?  Apparently not.  Now I don’t even know why one yarn would do that over another – except something wonky with the twist of the first yarn.  That has to be it.  The spinner in me says this is so(and Techknitter said as much) It’s just hard for me to wrap my mind around a commercially prepared yarn doing that.  Soooo weird.  I’m also wondering if the other knitters who have had the same problem are using the same yarn I was?  That would be interesting to see.    Rest assured, I shall beat the living crap out of that green yarn, wind it back into balls and put it aside for something a little less stressful on it………..and me. 

Now, I wonder if the migraine I was gifted with today was due to the green yarn fumes or the rainy weather………..or the fracken hormones that just won’t step the hell off.  I’m giving myself till the end of next week to make some progress on this knit – and then putting it aside for my son’s Wallaby. That’s for Christmas and I think a month is more than enought time to get that done and blocked for him.  I should get in some quality knitting time with November being a month of quite a few halfdays and days off from school.  Ahhhhh.  I love November. 

Thank you all for all the nice comments you left for me on my CPH – wore it at work today and it’s comfy and warm.  What more can you ask for in a sweater?

11 responses »

  1. OK. Yours *is* slantier than mine. The new one looks great though!

    I’m remembering a swatch I once knit with recycled silk that behaved like that. I was sure it was me, but you’re absolutely right, it was the twist.

    ps I finally got my IK Holiday issue last night… Hooray for page 7!!!

  2. That’s really too weird about the Cascade – I thought only singles biased like that. I hope that the new Cascade continues to cooperate – if not, its a sign! Start a CPH for me instead! Hope you feel better and that your migranes go away….

  3. Dang, Chris, that is crazy weird, but I’m sure it relieved you to know it wasn’t you, but the yarn. That makes more sense and your 2nd attempt is looking better.

  4. Hm. I never, ever once thought to blame THE YARN. Silly me. Do you mean to tell me all this time it’s possible I was actually a GOOD knitter?

    Feel better soon!

  5. So many posts in such a short time, this is great! thanks for writing so much. There must really be something wrong with me, because I can’t see any problem with it at all. I’ve always known I don’t have an “eye for detail” and this must be a case-in-point.

  6. At least this one seems to be preforming well…maybe the heathers act more like a single and that’s why it biased? Weird altho it seems if you check Ravelry, others were having the same problem!

  7. You weren’t kidding about the crazy ass slanting ways of that sweater! I really hope that new yarn continues to work out for you. I’m planning on making the same sweater, but you aren’t the only one who has had problems with the biasing and I’m getting a little intimidated. 😛

  8. Oh that makes so much more sense. Over twisted yarn can definitely cause slanting. Somewhere in the back of my mind, I knew that, I just didn’t connect the dots!

Leave a Reply

