After the Festival

Standard

view-of-the-hudson-from-norries-state-park.jpg

Well, we finally did it.  We finally, after all these years of talking about it, made the trip to Rhinebeck.  It was just amazing.  We were supposed to head up to our campground Friday night, but we had torrential rains here and they were headed for up there, so we opted to head out saturday morning instead.  We arrived at the camp around 11, set up and headed over to the Fest.  Can I just say, overwhelming.  From the amount of people there to the amount of things to see.  I was clearly overwhelmed and luckily so, because I could have really loaded up on a lot but came home with this…….

rhinebeck-loot.jpg

Which I’m totally happy and satisfied about.  There are two skeins of STR (yes, I do have to see the colors before I buy, and there was a space in the crowd at The Fold…), a Skein of Skaska Designs Yak and Silk Laceweight (a tad smelly, but beautiful) and two skeins from Ancient Threads Farm and Fiber Mill – one sock weight, the other laceweight.  The Mug and Silver Bracelet were from my DH for our Anniversary.  I’ll get a better photo of the mug – it’s totally cute with a sheep on it.  I seriously wanted to bring home an Angora rabbit – but I have to make sure what I think is a rabbit allergy is not an Angora allergy too.  But I totally fell in love with one little bunnster, and really, it wouldn’t have taken much.  Not much at all.

The weather was just wonderful.  We spent a few hours at the Festival.  I actually saw a lot of Ravelry/Bingoers there, but not many I recognized.  I did garner my courage up and introduce myself to Jessalu – while DH was waiting to pay for my mug.  It was great to meet you, Jess!  And I did spy the Harlot a time or two surrounded by people.  I was keeping my eyes peeled for a few other people, but totally missed them – and forgot to bring cell phone numbers I had before I left home!  But I will be back – it was an awesome time and I’ll have to go next year with a plan in mind. 

DH is very, very happy with his Cobblestone……………….Here he is posing and goofing it up for me at the campground. 

cobblestone-bob.jpg

What a joker.  He sure knows how to work the lens, doesn’t he?

17 responses »

  1. Love the cobblestone sweater. I was thinking of making one myself, but since I’m trying to avoid the “sweater curse” I’m putting it off. Please tell me where did you get your project counter for your blog, as I would like to add one to my own.

  2. Pingback: Hempy Goodness « autumnblossomknits

  3. *Sigh* I will get to Rhinebeck some day. I have further to travel then you. That’s a nice, restrained haul you have there. Cobblestone looks wonderful. Tell DH he’s obviously in the wrong line of work. It’s amazing he wasn’t discovered earlier.

  4. I bought the same laceweight Yak/Silk from Skaska at Stitches. Love it! I bought beads that I hope will look good, and I’m planning on making mystery shawl 3, Swan Lake, with it. Can’t wait to see what yours becomes!

    W

  5. I’m glad you were able to make it to Rhinebeck finally. You got some nice things, but didn’t go overboard.

    Love the finished Cobblestone! your husband is quite the character! The sweater looks wonderful on him and he’s a great model!! Woo-hoo!

  6. Hahahahaha! We *all* bought from Ancient Threads Farm, but we didn’t discover that until unpacking because we’d all bought from them at different times! You have the hive mind! tee hee hee!!!! I’m so sorry we didn’t hook up. But I need to talk to you so I’ll send you an email in the next day or two! Hugs!

  7. Sounds like you had a great time at Rhinebeck! You sure got some lovely swag. 🙂

    Your DH looks fantastic in his Cobblestone. Such a contemplative pose. hehe

  8. Your hubby sure is lucky to have a fast and loving knitter get a Rhinebeck sweater ready for him! So glad you had a great time, and got such a nice haul… especially like the bracelet.

Leave a Reply

