Winding Down The Days

Standard

tims-rose-ll.jpg

The second rose to bloom on the gift my oldest gave me.  I think it’s neat that there were two rose blooms – one for each of our sons.  This one still has some rain in it from the storms we had last night.  Yes.  More Thunderstorms – violent ones at that.  We keep saying how we’ve never seen storms this frequent and this severe in a long time.  Constant lightning for hours and hours.  Then the storms just errupts over us – wicked winds, hail, debris everywhere.  It’s like the summer is going out with a bang.

This is the last week of my Summer Vacation from School.  Yes.  I shall return September 4th.  Sigh.  It’s been a really nice summer.  Very busy.  But I’ve really enjoyed it.  I promised myself that we would do our best to enjoy whatever we did this summer and I think we’ve succeeded.  And I really did get to do pretty much everything I had planned.  Most importantly, I got to spend time with the people that matter most to me -family and friends alike –   and how can anytime spent like that be bad?  Our oldest is heading back for his sophmore year of college this coming weekend – Just when we get used to having him around – he’s gone back to school.  Our youngest is heading into his sophmore year of highschool.  I’m glad we were able to spend vacation time with them this year – they just change so quickly.  And all that other cliche stuff you can say about your children getting older.  It’s funny.  I don’t think I’m busier because I have kids – I just know that when they are around, I want to be with them, so I’m busier being WITH my kids.  And as long as they want to be around us, too, well – time well spent!  As for the things I didn’t get to do this summer – well, so much good was had, I can’t really spend any time with regrets.  Honestly, I’m thankful for the days, the time off, the mostly decent weather.  Summer is such a busy time for everyone – I’m glad I was able to enjoy it without worrying about the things I didn’t get to do!  And the socks – let’s not forget the socks!!!  I’m just starting the second sock of the eighth pair – !!!  And DH has conceded to let me knit him the Cobblestone Pullover(links aren’t working for me right now, sorry!)  from the latest Interweave knits!!!  I’m so exited, I bugged the heck outta him about color choice yesterday.  Plus – my youngest has also decided that I may knit him a Wallaby!!!  And his color choice was much quicker.  I’m going to be making a significant Cascade purchase soon.  Of course – I do have several sweater’s worth of Cascade in my stash – do you think either one of them would have liked the colors?  Nope.  That’s ok.  I plan on knitting a Cobblestone for myself when all that “other” knitting is done. 

This week will prove to be hectic – but I plan to enjoy the heck out of my last week of Summer Vacation!

4 responses »

  1. It’s very sweet to have those roses bloom for you. 🙂

    And it’s also very nice of your “men folk” to be the reason for more yarn shopping. The Wallaby was so much fun to knit! Enjoy it.

  2. Enjoy your last week of vacation! And enjoy those beautiful roses. They really are lovely (and that sounds like it mirrors your summer, which overall was pretty lovely also).
    🙂

  3. I’m glad you had such a good summer. I look forward to seeing your incarnations of the Cobblestone Pullover. It’s a really gorgeous sweater.

Leave a Reply

