This is How We Block It…

Standard

…..Or how I spent my first day of summa vacation. 

icarus-blocking-lll.jpg

Blocking Your Shawl on the Clothesline using Blocking Wires!

Blocking Icarus.  Now I had all intentions of using my blocking board plus two foam squares – but this sucker is BIG.  It wasn’t that big last night at nearly midnight, when crippled from an hour and a half of binding off, I pulled that tail through the last stitch.  I thought I would surely wake up with two claws for hands.  Lovely bind off though – really like the way Mim wrote this pattern – it’s just flawless. 

Ok, so back to the blocking – I decided to run my blocking wires through and see if I could hang her up on the line to dry – it was breezy this morning and I thought it was much better than getting my bed all soggy –

icarus-blocking-ll.jpg

 I don’t know if this has ever been tried before – but it worked pretty well.  If I could just find a more grippy way of keeping the overlapping wires together It would have made a more rigid frame for the shawl – but it blocked out beautifully even.  Just a few ends to weave in, some artistic posing and a finished shawl shall be photographed in the new few days. 

Deets: Icarus made with Helens Lace in Blackwatch. 

Started: August 14, 2006

Finished: June 11, 2007 – Sheesh. 

ETA:  I think I did one more repeat than the pattern calls for.  This is what happens when you take 10 months to knit a shawl, obviously putting it down for some time, losing the sticky note that had the place you left off marked and having to figure out where the heck you are, to the best of your ability. 

Also, there was hair coloring, room rearranging with the help of DS1 – I had to get the furniture in the studio arranged before I can move anything else up.  And now – three big pieces of furniture have to be moved out of that room before anything else is done.  But the wall of shelves looks good.  Had a quick run to Target, a stop or two at the Post Office – some thunder and lightning and home again.  Now I am faced with the delimma of casting on for another shawl.  I figure I can have as many things as I want cast on as long as I don’t have two of the same thing going on at the same time.  So – a sweater, socks, shawl and scarf – these are all things I can have going on simultaneously.  Sounds fair to me. 

On a personal note – I find I’m doing a lot of reflection on my friendships/relationships lately.  A dear friend has become seriously ill, and if that doesn’t put things in perspective for you, I don’t know what will.  I’m thinking more of what I don’t want in my life right now, or more bluntly, not wanting to put up with bullshit when reality sure is rearing it’s ugly head.  I find I have little or no patience with middle aged temper tantrums, manipulation and passive aggressive behavior – and just plain meanness.  And at the same time, I feel that no one is perfect and doesn’t everyone have their flaws and deserve more chances? It just makes me realize that you can’t get along with everyone – you can just do your best and hope that through it all, you have been a good friend. 

10 responses »

  1. Holy Clothespin Hanging, Batman! She’s a right beauty!

    I’m so sorry about your friend. Hopefully it’s something that can be kicked in the butt. Yes. Life is too short. I’ll keep her in my thoughts.

  2. I love how you blocked your shaw! Ingenious. It came out beautifully too. Did you use the same amount of repeats as the pattern called for? For some reason I always though this was a smaller shawl.

    I’m sorry to hear about your friend, but I totally sympathize with your lack of tolerance for adult temper tantrums. It’s past time we all moved on from that. Seriously, we’re no longer in high school. While I can accept flaws in my friends, I will call them on their immature behavior. If they can’t lump it, they usually aren’t the type of friends I like to have. I know that’s harsh, that must be a character flaw. 😉

  3. The shawl is gorgeous and you are just too smart for blocking it that way – what a great idea! But the shawl is huge! I know you did an extra repeat….but wow! Just gorgeous though. I’m so sorry to hear about your friend…I will keep her in my thoughts and hope everything is ok.

  4. Icarus is beautiful and what an ingenious way to block it!

    I’m so sorry to hear about your friend, I hope she feels better soon. Life is too short – I’m pretty minimalistic when it comes to my irl friends, I only want those who contribute positively to my life and the rest – o-u-t! =)

    Here’s hoping things sort themselves out.

  5. Chris that is BEAUTIFUL!! Not surprising of course, you are a rockin knitter 🙂

    I’m sorry to hear about your friend. I hope things turn out ok, that she can get better. *hug*

  6. Love the shawl! And what a cool blocking idea too.

    I hope your friend will get better!
    And I agree with you on the bahaviour thing. I’ve parted with a friend before because she acted like a kid when something wasn’t going her way and her way exactly! Really not worth it.

  7. How clever you are! Looks like the clothesline worked wonders. That shawl is beautiful.

    Sorry to hear about your friend. Hope they get better. 🙂
    I find friendships hard sometimes. For me they always feel so one-sided.

Leave a Reply

