Fibery Pursuits and Other Drivel

Standard

I’ve been spinning more in the past week than I have in the past year – it feels good to get back to another of my fiber pursuits.  Having a Spinning friend closeby certainly helps with that!  Here are those Fiber Photo’s I promised……have a seat, this might take awhile!

I’ve already made plans for this beautiful red roving – Mojave – that I’m spinning right now.  I think it would make a beautiful Hanging Garden Stole.  And a perfect summer knitting project.

Merino/Tencel.  Both of these are from the folks at The Drafting Zone – I bought some last year and it’s so wonderful.  I wish I could find them online so I had a constant source….

 

Some Funky Merino Top from Pleasant Home Woolen Co.  I wanted to be adventurous – and there is at least 8 oz. here.  No idea what it will be when it grows up, but isn’t that half the fun?

Last of the Fiber to be spun – Bonkers Merino Tencel, Funky Green – I just had to have it.  You can see why, can’t you? And Laurie Stood on line to pay for it for me – I had to go buy my Woolee Winder, which was right across the way from the  Yarn Barn Booth….

Sideways Shetland – one of the two skeins of yarn purchased – I really meant to go for fiber and I did succeed.  This is just amazing feeling sock yarn.  And they will be mine, I tell you!

Finally.  This. Is. Just. Gorgeous.  Claudia Silk.  OMG.  I can’t believe I almost didn’t buy this, but as you can see, I came to my senses.  That’s it for the Maryland Fiber Fest Purchases.  But…..

Jeanne gave me this…….

And This……

Last week when we had an impromptu little spin in on her lovely deck.  Thanks Jeanne – you started off my fiber aquisitions and I’ve got plenty to do now.  Plus, we talked about having a dyeing session – which I really would love to do, since I’ve got huge bags of nice white Lincoln Fleece roving. 

I’ve  a busy week ahead of me jewelry wise – 2 Earring orders, 2 bracelet orders, a Special order necklace and the Wedding Topper stuff just arrived.  Plus, something else in the works that I won’t say much about for fear of putting the kabosh on it – not top secret, but not a lot to say until it happens and that won’t be till the fall at the earliest.  I know, a real cliffhanger…

My work year is winding down – but not without the usual end of the year drama and re-scheduling.  I’m really, really looking forward to this summer.  Last summer was soooooo not the greatest.  I’ve got some plans but not too many – I just want to have the freedom to not have to do anything – I need some “me” time.  I don’t know about you all, but I’m finding as time goes by, I’m perfectly ok just spending time puttering around, by myself.  I have no intention of planning every spare minute of my summer.  I actually find I need that alone time.  Don’t get me wrong, I do have plans – Camping Trip and a motorcycle trip up to Lake Placid, catching up with friends I didn’t get to see  this year.  But I totally intend on recharging my batteries and relishing some quiet times by myself.  Getting my studio in order – totally perfect way to spend some of that alone time.  Morning exercise – I need a routine and I’ll be walking with a friend a few mornings – but the rest will be  solitary.   I really am thankful for my friends and family, but at the same time, I’m perfectly comfortable and secure being on my own.  It’s a neat place to be at and it’s nice to not plan every second of my days off.  I’m lucky to have quite a few friends who are just like me, so there is no pressure there.  I think it’s just a part of my maturing, getting comfortable with recognizing what I need, (alone time) feeling secure in my relationships and not feeling like I’m being selfish for doing what I need to do.   Less pressure, less stress and isn’t that what vacations are supposed to be about?

I’m almost to the arm holes for Ariann.  I’m hoping to get this off the needles by the end of May.  Icarus is still there, right by my chair and the place I left off is clearly marked on the pattern.  I’m even becoming more organized – yikes!

It will be warm this week.  I’m taking the day off tomorrow to pick DS#1 up from college.  It went so fast – just yesterday I was a sobbing mess, not knowing where the heck he was going to be, how to get to him on my own, writing step by step directions to get back and forth to college – and now?  I’m just comfortable driving down there and helping pack him up tomorrow, maybe do lunch and mosey on home.  Just me and him.  It will be fun and I’m looking forward to it. 

Saturday may or may not include knitting meetup – if it’s nice, DH and I will be out and about on the bikes.  If it rains, I’ll head on over to group.   Sunday I plan on having a nice, relaxing day, whatever we end up doing!

Whew – kudoos to you if you stuck out the long winded post!

7 responses »

  1. OMG – the fiber you bought is amazing! I am now totally dissatisfied with what I bought at MD…..I love the red. I didn’t get to the Drafting Zone this year – and only remembered after I left – but now I really wish I had….enjoy spinning!

  2. That green Bonkers yarn? You’re lucky you didn’t talk me into buying a wheel or it might have found its way into my bag!

    Enjoy your time with DS#1. You’re a GPS pro, so don’t sweat it.

    And if I don’t see you this weekend, have a great time!

  3. I know exactly what you mean about having some “me” time. Two years of on-the-go school and work have left me somewhat ragged. Here’s to an excellent summer full of “me” time!

  4. Wow! That Funky Merino Top…? You know, if you discover you are ever too busy to work that up…? :leer:

    Hah! But seriously, what a great haul. Everything you came away with is gorgeous!

  5. You were really focused on the fiber this year. It all looks beautiful, esp. the Merino Tencel (probably because I’m interested in working with yarn of that type at some point). Ohhh and the Claudia Silk looks scrumptious from here, yummy.

    Definitely enjoy your summer. Last summer was a tough one for your family, but it all worked out in the end. Rest, relax yourself, see friends, but also have time for yourself. You have to take good care of yourself in order to be a good wife, mother, friend to everyone else. That’s my motto! But the balance is always hard too.

    Happy Mother’s Day too!

Leave a Reply

