While the Weather Outside is Frightful….

Standard

valentines-day-snow-storm.jpg

Valentine’s Day Storm, 2007 – don’t worry, the bird feeders out front have lots of seeds – we can’t fill this one right now because of the Bears – maybe now that it’s snowed, they will finally go take their slumber…..

studio-before.jpg

Studio, before.  This is the room that is to become my “Studio”.  I’ve moved my metal bench in, and I’m trying to move stuff out – but it takes some brute force to move TV’s, stands, tables and such and I’m pleading for a little help around here.  I’ll take the move slowly and hopefully have something wonderful to show for it in a month or so. 

unakite-necklace-front-21407.jpg

So I worked on this instead of moving those TV’s…..Nugold and Unakite Necklace.  Everything, all the links and clasps are hand formed and made by moi.  I wanted something that could be a companion piece to the bracelets I’ve been making – most of which aren’t getting a chance to hit the shop yet – I’m happy to say they are selling.  I’m proud of this piece – it’s my creativity coming out and I’m pleased with it, but I know that it will evolve over time.  It’s at the shop now. 

Now for some knitting news  – this is a knitting blog afterall.  Laurie had a great idea to make the Endpaper Mitts, so we are going to embark on that, hopefully bringing Jeanne along with us! I’m not as afraid of colorwork as I once was, since the Canada socks – I mean really, If I can do color work on socks, of all things, I think I can try it on other items.  Eunny writes the most wonderful patterns and I’m really looking forward to selecting some yarn and getting started on these. 

I plan on getting some serious knitting time in today – while I’m waiting for the TV movers, I might as well make some good use of this wonderful Snow Day.  I’m hoping to finish up one of the baby ribs socks and do the colorwork on the other Canada sock.  And pick up Ariann, for goodness sake!!!  I could really use a warm cardy on days like today.  The winds are whipping and I’m hoping we don’t lose power.  It is snowing like a son of a gun right now ( don’t ask me to decribe how a son of a gun snows, I don’t know) and as I’m looking out our front window, I can barely see through the trees on the other side of the road.  This is just the kind of snowstorm I wanted and I’m going to enjoy the heck out of it.  Oh, and just incase you need something beautiful to look at, please, for the love of all that is lace, go look at Jersey Knitters beautiful shawl – it’s just stunning.  I found the link to her blog on Deb’s blog – thanks Deb, for sharing that! 

Oh!  One more thing.  In honor of Wesley’s very first Birthday on Monday the 19th, Laurie is having a contest!!!!!!  Get on over there and give it a go – email your guess to her and she’ll enter you in the contest – and give that beautiful Wesley some Happy Birthday Wishes – although I’ve yet to meet him in person, ahem, I have come to appreciate his supreme cuteness. 

8 responses »

  1. Enjoy the snow. We’re having another snow today as well, although not a major storm. But still 8 weeks this has been going on. Anyhow, the necklace is beautiful.

  2. The necklace is gorgeous and so glamorous. I can picture it with a little black dress.

    Good luck getting your studio in order, it looks like you have your work cut out for you =)

  3. The necklace is great! I can’t wait to see upcoming designs. 😉
    And I must tell you. A while back I ordered a shawl pin from you–sort of a spiral-y design–and I loved it–and then it went missing. I looked and looked for it. And then I went to guild meeting (Nutmeg Spinners in CT), and I was talking to someone, and I looked up and saw that same shawl pin! On display! And I swooped over to The Wheel Thing and wrote a check immediately. Janet said you weren’t sure about selling through other retailers….so I wanted to let you know that it made me very, very happy. 😉

  4. Love the necklace, it is beautiful. And I love the snow, too, even if it does make my toes feel cold. But what I REALY love is that giant window in your office! Natural light! Plants! Fabulous!

Leave a Reply

