How I Cheated on My Knitting

Standard

Oh, my fickle knitters heart, forgive me, for I have cheated on my knitting.  Let me ‘esplain.  No.  Let me sum up.

 I’m a multi-faceted fiber junkie.  I’ve always knit or crocheted, adding to that, needlepoint (not so much anymore) cross stitch, spinning, and quilting.  I really haven’t done any quilting in about a year – my “craft” room is overflowing and mostly looks like a J*ann’s vomitted in my house.  Right now, there isn’t a single square foot of floor space to really even navigate around the room.  I miss quilting – and I could strike a balance with that and knitting because afterall, I can’t put my sewing machine in my lap and settle down on the couch for an episode of Grey’s, right?  Right!  But I work with a very Quilty gal, and she’s just inspired me to get back into it – clean up that mess of a room and get quilting again.  So I laid down the knitting needles the past two nights to get going on a hand appliqued wall quilt – I love applique.  She saw this quilt in her magazine, knew it was all me, brought it in, got me hooked and now the rest is history – she even gave me the magazine.  Well, what choice did I have – I couldn’t let that much faith in me down.  So, I’ve cheated on my knitting.  And all this wanting to do everything I want to do, in a space I can keep uncluttered, had me on a campaign for more space in our house.  So, after negotiations, I get to take up residence in our “florida” room.  a.k.a. the den that no one but the video-gaming sons use  – what a waste of space – sorry son’s.  Now, I have to keep the futon in there and the birds (two cages) but it leaves me with about 17 x15 feet of room, room, room!!!  And I can move my metal bench in there, along with the sewing table, yarn stash and various, sundry other crafts that are in my life – and put my spinning wheel in a corner by the window, ready to go at a moments whim!!!  OMG!!!  The move will have to take place gradually – since there has to be massive cleaning and foodshopping in order to prepare for tomorrows Super de Bowl.  And I haven’t a thing done on that front – therefore, no photo’s today.  But really, how exciting is a new craft room!!! 

And I’m trying to write better.  With more “voice”.  I help out every afternoon in our fifth grade LA class, and I’m learning a heapload (adj.) of interesting information to help jazz up my own writing.  I’m not sure I can do the clearing of the clutter in my writing – it doesn’t work for my house, so how can it work for my written word?  But, I’m longing to make this blog a better read for my loyal audience.  I want you to be able to really picture in your heads what I write. So now, I’m off to gnash my teeth while working my fingers to the bare bones, sweaty and weary about the task that lays before me  – cleaning the friggin house!

Kids, don’t worry, you’ll have a way to play your video games – just bug Dad for that! 

6 responses »

  1. Oh, a craft room!!! You’re lucky! And bigger than the prison cell that is my room 😉
    Ah, but one day I’ll have a job and a place of my own(and a craft room!).

  2. I can forgive you for the yarn cheating. Thread is a fiber, after all. And how can I throw stones when I have 3 sewing machines? So you go on and quilt with your bad self! 🙂

    And it’s VERY exciting that you’re going to have a BIG room for all of your pretties. Call me and I’ll come over and help you move – promising NOT to stuff anything into my shirt. Really.

    BUT…cleaning? Oh, it burns! IT BURNS!

  3. According to Ross from Friends, it’s not cheating if you’re on a break. So just look at it that way. You took a bit of a break from the knitting 😉

    I’m excited that you get a craft room!

    And I didn’t know you quilt! That’s awesome! Someday maybe I’ll learn me how to make some o’them perdy blankies 😉

    Which team are you rootin for? I’m not a huge football fan, and just last night learned who’s playing tomorrow, however, I do plan to watch the game. Not sure who I’ll root for…I usually figure that out after the game starts, and it’s usually for the underdog LOL 🙂

    Have a great week!

  4. A craft room – I’m so jealous! Hey, are you going to setup the loom too? Please? So when do we get invited over?

    Hope cleaning the house wasn’t too bad, and that you did get some time to craft.

  5. Eh, that’s not cheating. Most of us do dawdle in other crafts anyway and knitting may not have been the first craft, it just becomes the most obsessive one. And if you’re picking up a craft you used to do for which you have lots of fabric stash anyway, even better to begin doing osmething with it again. That’s great about the new craft room. It sounds like a great big space!

Leave a Reply

