Bring on the Winter

Standard

mists-in-the-valley.jpg 

We heard a rumor that it’s supposed to get cold and stay cold – I wonder how true that is.  We did see a nice snow squall the other day – and we have a “special weather statement” up  for some freezing rain sometime Mondayish – very exciting stuff around springville.  Seriously, we have crocus blooming and buds and all manner of springishness – totally inappropriate for the middle of WINTER in the North-Frickin-East!

Thanks for all the sympathies on my total knit-idiocy with Ariann.  Thank goodness I really enjoy knitting this pattern.  And I’m still enjoying it.  Had a little problem getting used to the fact that I was not longer raglan decreasing – evidenced by the decreases I was doing at the side of the sweater where I wasn’t supposed to be decreasing.  Dropping stitches down and knitting them back up to preserve the increases I was actually supposed to be doing.  I don’t know what brought on this episode of stupidity for me, maybe it was just the normal, after holiday let-down of my poor little brain. 

Friday was Pajama Day at work – my first one, ever and I had a lot of fun just walking around in PJ’s all day.  Although I was told many times it didn’t look like I had PJ’s on (?) I did scuffle around in my slippers to make it authentic.  Then I actually had to get dressed when I got home from work to go out to dinner (!) We had a very nice dinner with the boys and J – they are heading back to college sometime this weekend and it’s been nice to be able to spend some time together with them.  They’ve changed a bit since September – I can’t really put my finger on it, it’s not as simple as maturity, because they were pretty mature to begin with.  We had a lot of fun, though and it was nice to just relax a bit.   I didn’t knit a stitch yesterday – that’s a bit unusual for me!

Knitting group today at Panera Bread – meeting up with the knitty peeps for a while – and I’m really looking forward to it.

5 responses »

  1. This winter has been unseasonably warm, I feel like I can’t cool off. In fact, right now I have the air conditioning running! =)

    Glad to hear ariann is back on track, that is a beautiful sweater.

  2. I’m so happy that all is going well with Ariann, that’s great! You can have the winter weather, or at least ours here in Denver! I’ve had enough. Happy MLK Day!

  3. Well I finally made it over here! I was wondering why you hadn’t posted in a while! 🙂
    Chris, I’m interested in the beaded shawl pins, would you be kind enough to send me an email telling me how they work?

Leave a Reply

