Rainy Days and Fridays

Standard

Rib and Cable socks – Done, Finite, complete-o. Finally. What the heck takes me so long with some things, I’ll never know…..

Started: July 29, 2005 (yeah, I know, I have no excuses)
Finished: April 13, 2006
Yarn: Mountaincolors Bearfoot – don’t know the color name, and I can’t find it on their site, so that’s how long I’ve had this yarn.

The yarn is wonderful to work with, I would definitely buy it again. The pattern, well, it’s from IK, don’t remember what issue but it’s by Nancy Bush. Normally I like her patterns, but this one, not so much. Weird decreases for the toe with purling stitches together and frankly, I like a evenly decreased toe with those nice neat knit together areas. I’m glad they’re done and I won’t be making them again – not that they were hard to make, I just didn’t enjoy the pattern.

So, I decided to take a break from sonnet and knit some “plain” socks using that ball of Opal I bought last year in Vermont. And teach myself two new techniques – toe up and two circulars – this was the sock after the third attempt – not bad for me, that wrapping was a little wonky and I wanted it to look right – oh and this was taken at the kitchen table since DS decided he needed the whole couch to lay on – the nerve!

And this was last night after I turned the heel watching ER. I really am enjoying this – love the toe up, love the Opal yarn, not too soft, but a nice firmish fabric and I like the patterning. Love the fact that I didn’t have to “pick up and knit” the stitches along a heel flap – I might just do all my socks like this from now on. I have the urge to have many, many handknit socks in my drawer right now – I think my seasonal clock is waaaaaay off, but hey, it’s not really going to hurt anyone, is it??? I think I just need to keep myself or my hands busy, while I’m taking care of DS – he is coughing so much now. We go back to the damn doctors today at 10am – I’m really hating having to drag him there and expose him to whatever nasty thing is hovering around that office, but they make you feel like you are not doing the right thing by keeping him away. I just want to make sure he’s getting better, because he just seems to be lingering in this 102 temp phase and I’m worried.
It’s going to rain today and maybe T-storm – we had a storm yesterday afternoon that was a surprise – I love thunderstorms. Now, I didn’t just say I love tornadoes. I just love thunderstorms. There is a difference. DS and I are watching Monty Pythons – And Now For Something Completely Different – at least he’s easily entertained. Did you know that when you have a sick child at home – there are not any good movies on TV???? Or he’s seen them ALL??? Oh, yeah, and sometime between today and tomorrow – I have to shop for EASTER!!

Leave a Reply

